Esscom opens 24-hour ops room


LAHAD DATU: The Eastern Sabah Security Command (Esscom) yesterday announced the opening of a 24-hour operations room here to enhance security in the east coast which experienced a Sulu terrorist attack earlier this year.

Esscom director-general Datuk Mohammad Mentek (pictured) said the public could contact it by telephone (089-863181) or fax (089-863182) to make enquiries, lodge complaints or provide information.

“This is part of our strategy to step up preparedness to face any eventuality related to defence and security in Esscom,” he told Bernama.

Mohammad advised the public, including village chiefs and chairmen of village development and security committees, to alert the operations room immediately upon sighting the presence of suspicious immigrants in their villages.

“This initial information is important for the defence and security forces’ personnel to take the appropriate action for the good of all,” he said.

Mohammad also advised the public against abusing the operations room hotline by providing false information or making prank calls, warning that stern action in accordance with the law would be taken against offenders.

He said every piece of information or complaint received would be investigated and scrutinised for follow-up action.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced the establishment of Esscom on March 7 when he arrived in Lahad Datu for a first-hand look at the ‘Op Daulat’ government offensive against Sulu terrorists who had intruded the district in February.

Esscom is the authoritative body that oversees the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (Esszone) which covers 10 districts along a stretch of 1,400 kilometres on the Sabah east coast.

Esszone, which encompasses the districts of Kudat, Kota Marudu, Pitas, Beluran, Sandakan, Kinabatangan, Lahad Datu, Kunak, Semporna and Tawau, was established to maintain the sovereignty and security of the Sabah east coast following the terrorist intrusion.

Esszone also helps to enhance all operations undertaken by various entities, including the Malaysian Armed Forces, Royal Malaysia Police, Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency and the Immigration Department.

By :
New Sabah Times