Juliani to spearhead Sabah



KOTA KINABALU: National player, Juliani Mohd Din will spearhead Sabah women’s team challenge at the 2021 Malaysian Hockey League (MHL) that will be held in the national capital next month.

The Kota Belud-born Juliani has been named among the 20-member squad by the Sabah Hockey Association. Juliani will undoubtedly be the most experienced and oldest player in the stateside that would comprise mostly teenagers. She turned 35 last month.

Juliani, who has had 180 caps with the national team, will lead the young Sabah side that will make only their second appearance in the national league.

Sabah head coach, Yahya Atan will surely be looking at Juliani, an Air Force sergeant at the Sungai Besi camp, to lead Sabah’s young side in the league.

And Yahya has every right to count on the most experienced player in his side, after all, Juliani certainly has what it takes to lead her young team-mates.

“With the retirement of national captain, Siti Noor Amarina (Ruhani) in March, I am now the most senior player in the team (national),” Juliani was quoted as saying by a national daily recently.

“And I believe my services are still needed to marshal the defence,” she added.

“Although I’m 35, I am still as fit and fast as ever.”

Among her memorable outings in the international scene was helping Malaysia to win their first-ever bronze medal in the Asian Champions Trophy in Kakamigahara, Japan in 2013.

She went on to say that she wants to be the first Sabahan woman player to feature in five Commonwealth and Asian Games in 2022.

She featured in four Commonwealth Games in Melbourne in 2006, New Delhi (2010), Glasgow (2014) and Gold Coast, Australia (2018).

Sabah women’s full squad is as follows – Juliani Mohd Din, Iren Hussin, Norasfarina Isahhyfiqa, Cyrachild Rojos, Nurul Sharieyanie, Dygku Arna Fazirah, Aina Rizana Mohd Azlan, Sufiamira Basri, Ermah Marin @ Misin, Melanie Juim, Inka Shafika Juani, Flovenia Silverius, Nurekhmah Najwa, Melicia John, Christine Olivia Goden, Siti Amirah Sabri, Sazanianie Sabinus, Hidayatul Adyani, Siti Rozailah Jilon and Kersimah Kauran.

By :
New Sabah Times