SASA short-lists 22 swimmers for Sukma



KOTA KINABALU: The Sabah Aquatic Sports Association (SASA) has short-listed a provisional list of 22 swimmers to undergo training under its Sukma 2020 programme.

In revealing the list yesterday, SASA acting president Patrick Laing Ngau said these swimmers were selected based on their results at the recent Sabah Age Group Swimming Championship 2019 (SAG).

“This group of swimmers has been mutually selected by coaches into the Sukma 2020 programme. This programme is set up by SASA with the main aim to have early preparation in order to achieve the best we can.

“The selection is based on the SAG results (2019),” said Ngau, adding that the selected swimmers are only training under the programme, but yet to be appointed Sukma trainees.

According to Ngau, they are planning to organise a five-day centralised training camp for these swimmers.

“Most probably we will organise the camp during the May school holidays. But we are still looking and finalising the venue. We hope all the swimmers (selected) will participate to strengthen their teamwork spirit,” he said.

Meanwhile, Ngau also revealed that they will be organising the 2nd SASA Novice Swimming Championship 2019 that will be held at the Penampang Sports Complex swimming pool, this Saturday.

He said that the championship is strictly for novices and that medal winners at the SAG or any MSSS championship cannot join the competition.

“We want to give opportunities to the young ones or those who have never won medals at the state level or MSSS meets,” he said, adding that the championship is only open to SASA affiliate clubs.

“So far, we have 165 entries,” he added.

The 22 swimmers comprising 10 boys and 12 girls are as follows – Janetty John Fabian, Muhammad Yousoff, Shairul Aiman, Yaaseen Yunus, Franklin Clement Patrick (all from Penampang); Loo Yie Bing, Thien Oi Yi, Loo Yie Cheng, Yipp Chi Tong, Gerard Tsen, Samuel Ng, Chong Ka Yong (from Sandakan); Cheng Ka Man, Eric Bong Cheng Liang, Muhamad Naqeb (Sekolah Sukan Malaysia Sabah); Chu Xin Ying, Janice Lai, Lovell Wong, Gasten Gan, Shawn Voon, Yong Xing RU and Yong Zi Yi (Likas).

By :
New Sabah Times