18 secondary schools for rugby 7s tournament



KOTA KINABALU: Around 18 secondary schools from across the State have confirmed their participation in the Sabah College Invitational Rugby 7s – 5th Benjamin Nair Cup tourney, this weekend.

The one-day tournament which is one of the Sabah Osca Warriors development programmes in collaboration with Sabah Rugby Union (SRU) will take place on September 8 at Sabah College rugby field in Sembulan.

There are a total of four categories to be contested namely the Boys’ Under-14, Girls’ Under-14, Boys’ Under-16 and Girls’ Under-16.

However the Sabah Sukma Games players will not be involved in the tournament.

Among the schools taking part in the BU14 category are Sabah College, SMKA Limauan, SM La Salle A, SM La Salle B and SMK Tansau while only three schools are competing in the BU16 namely Sabah College, SMKA Limauan and SM La Salle.

The GU14 will see Sabah College, SMK St Francis Convent, SMK Mat Salleh Ranau, SMK Lohan Ranau and SMSM vying for the title, while Sabah College, SMK St Francis Convent, SMK Lohan Ranau, SMK Mutiara Labuan and SMK Penangah Telupid will battle it out in the GU16 category.

SRU Women’s Rugby Development Officer, Paul Thevaraj Arulappen hopes that all the schools participating will give their best during the tournament as it is also used to select back-up players for Sabah in future tournaments.

He took the opportunity to thank all the sponsors and parties that supported the tournament, especially Sabah Osca Warriors Rugby Club (SOWRC) president, Benjamin Nair.

By :
New Sabah Times