Sabah men, women ruggers for weekend National Sevens



KOTA KINABALU: Sabah Rugby Union (SRU) will be sending its men’s and women’s teams to take part in the National Sevens taking place in Ipoh, Perak this weekend.

The state men’s team have been drawn in the four-team Group B in the four-group Men’s Open category. They have Selangor, Perlis and Armed Forces for company.

Hosts Perak are drawn in Group A along with Police, Kedah and Putrajaya, while Group C is made up of Kelantan, Negeri Sembilan, Penang and Melaka.

The three-team Group D comprises Terengganu, Kuala Lumpur and Johor. Nine teams will feature in the Women’s Open category.

Sabah women have been drawn in Group J along with Selangor and Armed Forces, while Group K will have Terengganu, Kuala Lumpur and Labuan.

Kedah, Negeri Sembilan and Perak are in Group L. However, SRU has decided not to take part in the Men’s U-20 category. Fourteen teams will compete in the category.

Selangor, Perak, Melaka and Pahang are drawn in Group E, while Group F will have Johor, Putrajaya, Labuan and Kedah.

Kuala Lumpur, Terengganu and Penang are in Group G, while Group H will have Kelantan Perlis and Negeri Sembilan. Sabah’s men will open their campaign against Armed Forces on Saturday in a match that has been slated to start at 10.20am, followed by a tie against Perlis at 1.16pm, before concluding their challenge up against Selangor at 4.56pm.

As for the women’s team, they will be taking on Armed Forces in the opener at 11.48am before playing Selangor at 2.44pm.

New Sabah Times