Kadazan Dusun
Latest News
PPM minanaan 10 modidikot aiso kasagaan (PATI) |  SK Sualok id Beluran kakal pointutub |  194 monginsada nokotimo sakadai 'Touch Point' kihoogo RM232,000 |  MARA tidak ketinggalan jalankan Tanggungjawab Sosial Korporat |  Henti eksport kayu balak usaha Sabah penuhi permintaan industri perkayuan |  Orang ramai dijemput hadir MRT Tahun Baru Cina 2019 |  Ketua Hakim cadang kerajaan audit undang-undang berkaitan hak pribumi |  Carlsberg brings best shopping experience |  Unity for better business opportunities |  Tournament to raise funds for ex-State player |  Preparations smooth despite limited budget – Peter |  Timber exports stopped to meet needs of local factories |  Missing elderly woman found unharmed |  Rights of Indigenous people ignored – CJ |  Dr Jeffrey questions if State A-G was consulted before water concessions termination | 

Team Victory trio outbowl Team Solid in decider

THE CHAMPIONS ... the Team Victory trio of (from left), Zulaizad, Zulfikar and Salahudin, pose for a group photo together with Ladislaus and Shuib (right).

27th May, 2016

By FRANCIS XAVIER Francis@newsabahtimes.com.my

KOTA KINABALU: Team Victory from Labuan emerged champions of the 2nd Kinabalu Borneo Cup Open Triples Tournament, which ended at the Kota Kinabalu Sports Complex Lawn Bowls Green in Likas here yesterday.

Kota Kinabalu-born Zulfikar Mansor and his two teammates, Salahudin Razali and Zulaizad Zulkifli, both from Kuala Lumpur clinched the crown after registering a comfortable 15-10 victory over Kota Kinabalu-based Team Solid in the final.

The feat saw the victorious trio pocket the RM5,000 prize money while Team Solid made up of Mohd Hairi Hamzah, Affendy Tan and Supian Buang walked home with RM2,500.

En route to the final, Team Victory scored a 14-10 win over Sandakan A while Team Solid defeated Tiger Sabah 23-4. Both the losing semi-finalists – Sandakan A (Saadan Alak, George Ensil and Khairul Faiz Ishar) and Tiger Sabah (Dayang Lapuan Omar, Abdul Murah Laksanah and Lawrence Eiging) received RM1,000 each.

The fifth to eighth placed teams namely NSJ (Sulaiman Amit, Muhammad Firdaus Sulaiman and Nur Syafiqah Tan), Philippines B (Hazel D Jagonoy, Sharon Hauters and Rosita Bradborn), ITPM A (Nur Farhana Roziman, Abdul Rajib Rajan and Nazrin Su’ib) and Tuaran (Jokalan Molisin, Hendry Inter and Nurudin Minudin), received RM500 each for their feat.

A total of 42 teams, including from Australia (three teams), Brunei (three), the Philippines (two) and one each from Japan and Thailand, took part in the four-day tournament.

For the record, the tournament was the result of merging two international events – the Kinabalu Cup and Borneo Cup.

The Kinabalu Cup was previously held by the association while Scott Ollerenshaw’s Borneo Sports & Adventure Holidays hosted the Borneo Cup.

Sabah Lawn Bowls Association president Ladislaus Maluda was there to grace the opening ceremony and presented the prizes to the winners.

He was accompanied by his deputy-cum-tournament advisor Shuib Hashim.

Email Print