Kadazan Dusun
Latest News
Esscom papanau pongkimamaan popoinsavat koumohigan pitakasan Esszone |  Lahan injin Malalap toodon mahik |  APPM minagau sigup ii sinansagan suminuang |  Kusai natagak ontok monginsada id Bavang Segaliud |  Sabah pinopoimagon palan kosudong kotundaan komuhakan |  Kenangan indah masih segar |  Warga UMS bersihkan Pantai ODEC, kutip 1.8 tan sampah |  Jimmy: Longgokan tayar di kawasan bengkel perlu diselesaikan |  Tindakan penculik muat naik video acu parang ke leher mangsa adalah perang psikologi: Fuzi |  Rozman minta waktu operasi Klinik Kesihatan di UTC dilanjutkan |  Landasan kereta api dari Tenom- Melalap akan dibina semula: Peter |  APMM Lahad Datu tahan bot, rampas rokok |  ESSCOM pertingkat keselamatan perairan Esszone, kata Ayub |  Daikin launches R32 inverter air conditioning series |  Celcom’s customer experience receives international recognition | 

Sabah Cops clinch IGP Division One title

5th July, 2018


KOTA KINABALU: It was a historic moment for Sabah Cops as they clinched the Division One title of the IGP Cup Hockey Tournament at the Wisma Belia Hockey Stadium in Kuantan, Pahang yesterday.

Making a return to the tournament after a lapse of 22 years, Sabah Cops defeated Terengganu 2-1 in a penalty shoot-out after 1-1 draw in regulation time.

The feat will now see them compete in the Premier Division next year alongside the big guns, while Terengganu will remain in Division One.

“This is a glorious moment for us,” an elated Sabah team manager Supt Nor Azizulkifl Mansor was quoted as saying by Malaysian Sports.

“I wish to thank every member of the team for giving their best in the final. It was a very nerve-wrecking final and thank God we prevailed in the shoot-out.”

“I also take this opportunity to thank our top bosses for their guidance. They have been very supportive and now that we are champions we have a bigger responsibility next season in the Premier Division,” he added.

Mohd Firdaus Abdul Ghani shot Sabah ahead with a 23rd-minute penalty corner conversion and were headed for victory but Terengganu earned a penalty corner in the last few seconds of the match which Mohd Ashraf Abdul Halim converted – pushing the match into a penalty shoot-out.

Norhashim Ahmad and Mohamed Ismail converted for Sabah while, Ashraf was the only player who scored for Terengganu.

Earlier, Sabah Cops, who last competed in the IGP Cup in 1996, earned their final ticket after registering a slender 1-0 win over Briged Tenggara.

Mohd Firdaus Abd Ghani scored the winner for the East Malaysian outfit. On the other hand, Terengganu claimed their berth after trouncing Briged Utara 3-0 in the other semi-final encounter.

Meanwhile, Briged Tenggara defeated Briged Utara 3-0 to finish third in the tournament.

Email Print