Kadazan Dusun
Latest News
Keewon siap single lagu sentuhan Ateng |  Permohonan Biasiswa Kerajaan Negeri Sabah dibuka hari ini |  15 suspek berjaya ditahan AADK Keningau dalam Ops Cegah |  'MA63 realisation important towards strengthening Malaysia' |  UMS, YL4S ganding bahu capai ‘Zero Plastic Heroes’ |  Allow equal rights to confer nationality on spouses and children: JAG |  “We can recover in three years” |  'Minister should leave Water Dept Director appointment up to AGC' |  Yong: Water supply disruptions not due to dry weather but incompetence |  Commendable outing for Labuan ruggers |  Sabah silat exponents set three-gold target |  Sabah Para swimmers rule |  R10,000 sakadai kumaa PVATM laan Kota Belud |  Airbus' sourcing activities in Malaysia to reach US$550 mln |  Good paying jobs await spa therapy grads | 

Sepanggar HC Hockey League champs

16th April, 2018


KOTA KINABALU: Sepanggar HC emerged as the champion of the Kota Kinabalu Hockey League 2018 after edging SMK Likas 2-1 in a penalty shootout at the Kinabalu Sports Complex hockey pitch on Saturday.

The match was brought into a penalty shootout after both sides failed to settle the score in regulation time after being tied two-all.

SMK Likas were leading 2-0 at halftime with M. Fazil netting the opener in the 14th minute before M. Daniel Firdaus scored the second in the 21st minute.

After the break, Jeaner reduced the deficit for Sepanggar HC from his 41st-minute penalty corner effort before Eslebester levelled the score in the 44th minute from a field goal.

The feat saw Sepanggar HC walked home with RM500 prize money and lift the Tuaran Hockey President (sponsor) Cup plus medals and certificates.

SMK Likas had to contend with RM300 plus trophy, medals and certificates.

UMS Adler finished third after trouncing Kota Marudu 5-1 in the playoff. Vivonjesru, Muhd Hafditirow, Wan Zawawi and Adrian Suraj (two goals) scored for UMS Adler while Chelidon scored the consolation for Kota Marudu.

The third and fourth placed teams received RM200 each plus medals and certificates.

SSMS Jr, Gaya, PERHUIS, and PHD Tuaran concluded their challenge in fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth respectively in the eight-team league that started early last month.

Abdul Khaliq Hamirin from SMK Likas was named as the league’s Best Player while Gaya walked home with the Fair Play award.

Kota Kinabalu Hockey Association (KKHA) president Dedi Saputra Mohd Rasyid was delighted to note that the league was held successfully from the start.

“This was our first attempt at staging the league and I’m happy to say that it went on smoothly from day one until the final.

“Of course there are shortcomings here and there, but next time around, we will try to add more teams, and make it more competitive,” said Dedi when met after the prize giving ceremony.

“We also hope that more sponsors will come and give us a helping hand and help us make hockey the most loved sport in the state capital.

“On behalf of the association, I would also like to extend our appreciation and sincere thanks to the president of Persatuan Hockey Daerah Tuaran Datin Zuriani Jumai for her generosity in sponsoring the league,” Dedi added.

Email Print