Kadazan Dusun
Latest News
Pesta Rumbia harus dipertahan: KM |  Projek Agropolitan Gana perlu disiapkan segera: Shafie |  Agensi kerajaan diminta kembalikan tanah milik rakyat |  Liew: Permohonan dapatkan peruntukan bina 150 PPRT Kg Gas sudah dikemuka kepada KKLW |  Sabah bakal berdepan krisis pekerja ladang |  Poor finishing haunts Sabah again |  Mika wary of Kedah threat |  KK, Tawau in Group of Death |  SEPA: Study on Sabah energy should not be limited to coal |  Kuala Penyu to get new Ko-Nelayan building next year |  Six-man gang who mugged police constable arrested |  Shafie wants govt agencies to return the rakyat’s land |  Suspected child molester nabbed |  Sabah facing labour shortage in 10 years |  Onom sabap ra kua 7-Eleven ra Jipun moonsoi | 

Mah drifts away with title

4th December, 2017


KOTA KINABALU: Undisputed Borneo Drift King, Mah Choun Hwo won the Sabah Drift Series after coming on top as the Expert Overall Champion to cement his place as the top drifter in Sabah.

The Maxxoil Sabah drifter from Kota Kinabalu wrapped the title at the series’ final round, Kalabakan Drift Challenge 2017 that concluded on Sunday at the Tawau Old Airport.

Mah came into the final round needing to finish within the top 16 to take home the inaugural series’ Overall Champion title.

He managed to achieve his target of just finishing in the top 16 before losing out to Dul Gui of FRT Suzuka Drift Team.

His closest title challenger, Desmond Chong representing EAR Drift Team was also knocked out in the top 16 whereby he at least needed to win the final round to give him a shouting chance.

Mah’s superior advantage in the series was courtesy of two victories during last year’s Kalabakan Drift Challenge and the Beaufort Drift Challenge in addition to a third place finish at the Papar Drift Challenge.

The Sabah Drift Series has a total of four primary rounds held across the state including one special round. When contacted yesterday, Mah was extremely pleased to lift the prestigious Sabah Drift Series title for the first time.

“I am pretty much delighted to win the title at last. It is one of the main highlights of my drifting career so far. “It is slightly disappointing not to end the season with a victory here today (Sunday) but nevertheless it has been a difficult season for me with many ups and downs but in the end, the hard work paid off sweetly,” said the 40-year-old.

Mah was also happy with the positive improvement among state drifters throughout the series where they gave him a constant challenge in every corner.

“I hope that Sabah’s drifting scenes will continue to grow in the future and more major competitions such as the Sabah Drift Series to be organised.

“On another note, I want to thank my family, sponsors, friends and crew for supporting me through the good and bad times during the series,” he concludes.

Rookie drifter of the year, Benedict Paul of FRT Suzuka Drift Team, secured the Sabah Drift Series Overall Novice Champion without any trouble.

Meanwhile, West Malaysian journeyman Mohd Azuan Abidin of FRT Suzuka Drift Team clinched the final round’s Expert category title after displaying superb car control under the tricky track conditions.

The Kuala Lumpur drifter also known as John Kacak piloted his Nissan Silvia S14 to glory against home crowd favourite, Chang Foo Kiun of OWS Lubricants in the final tandem battle.

Tawau drifters dominated the category as another two home drivers, Teh Jin Shoon and Mohd Ridzuan Awang finished third and fourth places, respectively.

The rest of the drifters completing the Expert category top 8 standings are FRT Suzuka Drift Team duo of Ung Heng On and Dul Gui, Ridwan Imus (Maxxoil Sabah) and Jack Ng (OWS Lubricants).

Lastly, Efhung surprised everyone to collect his first drifting silverware by claiming the Novice category followed by Pang Tsun Bin in second, TK Wong in third and Ah Vun finishing fourth.

There were several novelty prizes presented during the final round namely Top Qualifier Award goes to Desmond Chong, Best Smoke Award to Panda Gemuk and Best Drift Car to Gui Foo Sing.

Malaysia Olympic Council Vice President, Dato Nazifuddin Najib Razak graced the closing ceremony, yesterday to present the prizes to the winners.

When met by reporters after the prize presentation ceremony, Nazifuddin was overwhelmed by the growth of local drifting talents here in Sabah.

“Apart from Mohd Azuan, of all the drifters competing, majority are from Sabah and by the way they had performed well today (Sunday), it shows that Sabah drifters could go head-to-head against the best around the country.

“We hope to see further development in motorsport especially in drifting given that now Tawau has a proper space and strong backup for the sport,” he said.

Also present were Malaysia Umno Youth NGO Relation Biro Treasurer Nik Iruwan Nik Izani, Kalabakan Umno Division Vice Chief Ismail Ait, Kalabakan Umno Youth Chief Andi Muhd Suryady Bandy and Pemborong Bumi Jaya owner Jonathan Lim Ting Khai.

Email Print