Kadazan Dusun
Latest News
Hyatt Regency rai 59 kanak-kanak sempena Krismas |  Alyssa Dezek Selebriti kanak-kanak serba boleh |  190 mangsa terlibat simulasi hadapi banjir |  WCS berkonvoi ke Pantai Timur sambil membuat kebajikan |  Kem Sahsiah Guru perkukuh jati diri |  Jabatan Bomba dan Penyelamat Labuan tingkat hubungan dengan media |  IKM tawar kursus Pacuan Empat Roda pertama di Malaysia |  Polis tahan dua lelaki terlibat kes samun bersenjata |  Polis berusaha jadikan Tenom selamat, bebas dadah: DSP Firdaus |  Industri koko antara komoditi penting sumbang pendapatan negara: Nuhaini |  Towards producing a golden generation |  Stroll in the park for Penampang girls |  Ball in Mafry, Ronny’s court |  Keningau girls register second consecutive victory |  Homes razed, 27 firefighters’ help halt more costly damage | 

Shahieran sails to another double

8th August, 2017


KOTA KINABALU: Mohammad Shahieran Raiman added another feather to his cap after clinching the Optimist Overall title at the 24th KFC-NSC Merdeka Day Regatta at the Kinabalu Yacht Club (KYC) in Tanjung Aru on Sunday.

Sailing under the banner of Sabah Sailing Association (SAILA), the young sailor, 13, continued his fine form as he claimed the top spot (in the Optimist Overall category), by finishing ahead of Muhd Azehar Mangsor of Kedah and Terengganu’s Muhd Luqman Hakim Mansor.

Earlier on, he won the Optimist Division A where Muhd Luqman Hakim Mansor was second, while SAILA’s Muhd Aiman Adam Mohd Firdaus came in third.

This latest win came at the back of his double crown in Miri, Sarawak the previous weekend. At the 2nd KFC-MCC Sarawak Regatta and 12th Borneo International Yachting Challenge (BIYC) at Marina Bay in Miri, the SM All Saints Form One pupil clinched the double crown.

Back to the Merdeka Day Regatta, Muhd Azehar Mangsor of Kedah emerged first, followed by Wong Xiang of KYC and Terengganu’s Muhd Asnawi Iqbal Adam in the Optimist Division B category.

The top three in Division C were Mohd Fikri Aqil Mohd Fouzi of Terengganu, followed by Selangor’s Muhd Syahid Hakimi Mohd Faizal and Pahang’s Nasrul Zanin Hanami.

In the Girls’ Optimist event, Pahang’s Nur Alia Amera Mohd Latif clinched the top honour with Terengganu’s Al Insyirah Aina Zulkifli and Johor’s Nur Aleeya Waheeda in second and third place respectively.

The other Optimist event was open for the Novices where SAILA’s sailors dominated the top three through Shairul Yuzi Rafieq Razali, Mohammad Syahieradham Raiman and Nur Hafizah Hanani Zailan.

The three-day Merdeka Day Regatta was a national and state ranking event. It also featured the Laser 4.7 Overall where Nur Aisah Rose Ramlee finished first thus repeating her feat at the Sarawak Regatta and BIYC.

Nur Aisa’s SAILA teammate Muhd Afiq Irsyad Adam settled for second, followed by Sarawak’s Eric Owen Tan Chang Fook.

In the Laser Radial final, SAILA’s duo Afwan Amir Harun and Nor Naeilah Nor Hassan finished one-two while Pahang’s Nasrul Syazwi Hanami was third.

Muhd Syafiq Hasnan of Sarawak, Muhd Dhiaurrahman Rozaini of Kedah and Ganesha Grant of KYC were the top three finishers in the Laser Standard final, while Nicole Chan Mei Yii and Dg Nur Erhaziqah gave the host club something to cheer on as they won the International 420 title ahead of Kedah’s Muhd Farid Abdullah/Muhd Afifudin Awalludin and Johor’s Nurin Arisha/Mas Shahira, who settled for second and third placing respectively.

Navy Yacht Club Kota Kinabalu won the International 470 through Mohd Zaidey Bahadun and Nur Daniea Affrina Delwis, followed by Sandakan Yacht Club’s Michael R. Hastie and Gordon Lee/Dr. Ho as well as KYC’s Nigel Blundell and Andrew Alton.

Other winners were Darron Chin of Sarawak in the Bic Techno Class, Mohd Daniel Fauzi of Johor for Phantom 295 Class, and Muhd Fadzlin Hassan of Brunei Darussalam for the Windsurf Open Class.

Around 130 sailors from 15 teams from within the country as well as international entries from Brunei and Taiwan took part in the annual event organised by KYC and SAILA.

Assistant Minister of Tourism, Culture and Environment Datuk Kamarlin Ombi officially closed the Regatta while presenting prizes to the winners.

SAILA president Christopher Chin and KYC Commodore Albert Shim and his Deputy Commodore Ronald Cooke were also present.

Email Print