Kadazan Dusun
Latest News
Ruth Gidion luahkan tangisan dalam lagu |  Sambutan ulang tahun ke-60 SMK Tawau hari ini |  Persidangan Antarabangsa Sains Marin dan Akuakultur (ICOMSA) 2018 |  Perubatan Tradisional dan Komplementari anjur taklimat percuma |  Masyarakat perlu lebih peka bantu perangi gejala penyalahgunaan dadah |  Dua masih hilang bot dinaiki karam di Sungai Besar Kalabakan |  MPS, Sabah Green Development kerjasama tingkat penambahbaikan fasiliti di lokasi pelancongan |  Pelajar bertempiaran bila dua blok bangunan SK Sentosa musnah |  Explosive Borneo Derby on the cards |  Over 80 kick boxers fighting for honours |  Jevinton wins Chairman Cup, RM20,000 prize money |  Sabah ready to make presence felt |  PMBS once again to hold state-level Pesta Gambus |  Helicopter Academy – No aircraft booked for elections |  MMEA helicopter pilots first batch to graduate from Academy | 

KK boxers clinch Mayor Cup crown for first time

7th August, 2017


KOTA KINABALU: Kota Kinabalu clinched their first ever Mayor Cup overall title at the 63rd All-Sabah Boxing Championship 2017 that ended at Damai multipurpose hall, near here yesterday.

They walked home with the crown after winning three gold and two bronze medals in the Sabah Amateur Boxing Association (SABA) organised tournament.

Khairul Azmi Nassir, Adrian Junior and Fariz Uwamir delivered the gold medals for the newly crowned overall champs. Khairul Azmi clinched his gold after defeating Mohd Syafik Hassan, ATM Sarawak in the 56kg category final bout while Adrian overcome Mohd Jasrin Chong of Sandakan in the 69kg category final.

Fariz recorded a first round TKO win over Abdul Halim Razak, representing ATM Sabah.

Tawau finished as second best overall followed by Tuaran and Sandakan, who concluded their campaign as joint third best overall.

An ecstatic Kota Kinabalu team manager Adzrin Ganis thanked his boxers for the job well done. For the record, this was the first time ever that Kota Kinabalu had emerged as the overall champion since the introduction of the Mayor Cup in 2003.

Tuaran had won the overall title in the last two editions of the tournament.

“We have been training from Monday to Friday for the past three months at the open space facing the road side at the Likas Stadium.

“We didn’t expect this coming (overall title) because this is our back-up squad, and furthermore, we send only five boxers,” said Adzrin.

“We are very happy to have won it, and hopefully that it helped spur our boxers to train harder and achieve greater result in the near future,” he added.

Other final results saw Mohd Latiff Sopian Shah of Tawau winning the 49kg category gold medal without dropping a sweat after being given a walk-over win over Mohd Aliff Fazlee of Keningau.

In the 52kg final, Mohd Sukandar Zakaria of ATM Sabah defeated William Peter of Keningau while Rozaimi Ahad of Papar defeated Prederick Well of Tuaran in the 60kg final bout.

Nazri Salim clinched Tuaran first gold medal by defeating Roshairi Roslan of Sandakan in the 64kg final. Mohd Hudzaifah Ritz of Tawau was also among the gold medal winner. He registered a TKO first round win over Mohd Suzuan Salleh from ATM Sarawak in the 75kg final.

Sandakan won their gold medal through Shamir Naim Jhonny, who defeated Sachdave Singh of Ranau in the 81kg final.

The tournament also saw three women’s final bouts being contested. However, it did not count in determining the overall title.

In the first women bout, Nor Farah Mazlan of Kota Marudu defeated Nurfaehah Harris, while Ranau’s Zaryatie Zakaria overcome Eliana Said of Tawau in the 52kg final.

Nur Atirah Tantiana, representing Penampang registered a TKO (referee stop contest) third round win over Intan Nor Azline of Kota Belud in the 60kg category final.

This edition’s of the tournament saw a total of 73 boxers took part.

These boxers represented their respective teams namely Ranau, Tambunan, Tenom, Keningau, Papar, Kota Kinabalu, Tuaran, Kota Belud, Sandakan, Tawau, ATM Sabah and ATM Sarawak in the two-day championship. KK City Mayor Datuk Yeo Boon Hai was there to grace the closing ceremony and gave away the prizes to the winners.

SABA President Datuk Orlando Harumal as well as organising chairman John Adriano were also present.

Email Print